Week Four is No More

My fourth week of 10K training is complete! I’m starting to feel like I’m getting my running legs back again. I’m very happy with my progress so far but this week was a disappointment. Read further and you’ll know why. I wish I’d drop a few more pounds but I guess with the weight training I’m staying in a holding pattern. No major gains, no major losses. I should have taken a few profile photos after my bypass surgery. I think my overall appearance looks slimmer and more fit than it did back in May but I’m really not sure. People ask me how much weight I’ve lost so I guess that means progress.

Monday’s workout was the most difficult so far. I ran 2.75 miles which is a post CABG milestone. My goal was to keep it an easy pace and stay relaxed. At the same time I was hoping my average pace would be close to 12:00 minutes per mile. I finished at a 12:08 average pace. The last mile and a quarter had alot of hill sections. I was breathing a little harder but tried to keep it relaxed and mostly did just that. I think if the run had been on all flats, I’d probably finished under a 12:00 mile pace. I managed to get a blister on the arch of my right foot! Haven’t had one there in quite a while. Eventually,  I’ll get a callus in this spot and it won’t happen as much. Oh well, that’s just part of a runner’s world. I sure could feel the blister during the next part of my workout. Intervals: 3 minute run + 2 minute walk, 4 minute run + 3 minute walk x 2, 3 minute run + 2 minute walk. After running almost three miles my splits were about a 12 minute per mile pace.

IMG_4506Tuesday I made a rest day. Wednesday was suppose to be a more intervals and some short distance running but… the blister on my right foot is much worse than I thought. Since I’m retired now and yesterday was a rest day I didn’t have any reason to put on shoes. When I finally put on my running shoes Wednesday morning I realized the blister was “big time”. In March, I had a nice callus in the area of this blister. Not so much now. I’ve drained the blister several times with a sterilized needle but I guess I need to take a blade to lance the blister a little larger so it continues to drain. With shoes, I can barely walk. On the plus side I did go to the gym to do some weight training.

Thursday morning the blister was filled with fluid again. This time I made the drain hole a little bit bigger. Hopefully, it will drain freely now. Still sore on Thursday so no running on this day either.

On Friday morning I hit the road to visit my mother and my sister in Kentucky. We planned a surprise birthday celebration for my Mom who will turn 80 next week. Normally, I would take workout clothes to do some running while I’m there but with the blister I decided to not bother. I hated it cause running in Kentucky horse country is so beautiful.

I just returned home a few hours ago. My blister is much better now so it looks like I’ll be back on track starting tomorrow. Yeah! Actually, my back, hips and feet ache a bit from not doing anything most of this week. Spending 18+ hours in a car in just three days is a bit much for me. I’m ready to get out and hit the pavement.

 

Monday, September 17
Run 2.75 miles. 12:08 per mile pace.
Intervals: 3 minute run + 2 minute walk, 4 minute run + 3 minute walk x 2, 3 minute run + 2 minute walk.

Today’s Music to Push Me Through:
Nothing Better – Chris Lake & Chris Lorenzo
Ten Feet Tall – Afrojack featuring Wrabel
High on Life – Martin Garrix featuring Bonn

Tuesday, September 18
Rest day.

Wednesday, September 19
Weight training.

Thursday, September 20 Sunday, September 23:
Rest, recovery and travel.

 

Leave a comment